top of page
  • Writer's pictureStaunch

poem by Eliza Bacon

in the moment after a shower

a mirror is my canvas.

my gaze is mine.


with hands clasped

above my head

i am an arrow


stretching upwards

and backwards

head cocked


enjoying that i change and shift

enjoying how that bit sticks out there

how i tap it and it makes that sound.


i like watching my stomach

become wider and flat


as i lean

lean

pushing forwards


stretching backwards

arms reaching beyond

the pokey sprigs of hair at their stem.


my breasts even out

and

in the mirror


i can see them from below

(is this what it looks like for him?)


i watch how i can make them

perfect

round and smooth


my mind flicks to tracing fingers

but i choose to bring it back

to me


choose not to focus on what he sees.


my spine jolts


as i roll my shoulders back.

arms by sides.

exhale.


stare and frown.

body.


i close the door behind me

and quickly pull on my clothes.


Art by TASHA PICK.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hands

bottom of page